John 10:34-38

Back again to talk about another random but not-so random passage from my Reading Plan 🙂 A bit of background firsty:

I am quite sensitive in the way I perceive people, when it comes down to their genuinity and how I think they feel (notice I’m not saying I am accurate). It comes from tone of voice, from body language, their personality, etc. Not gonna lie, it’s pretty great to have in Avalon, but I guess that doesn’t weigh too heavily on the scale of what’s important. Let’s take a look at the skepticism in John 10:34-38!

Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I said, you are gods’? If he called them gods to whom the word of God came—and Scripture cannot be broken— do you say of him whom the Father consecrated and sent into the world, ‘You are blaspheming,’ because I said, ‘I am the Son of God’?  If I am not doing the works of my Father, then do not believe me; but if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.”

I can resonate a lot with the Jews in this passage that throw stones at Jesus. I jump to my own conclusions quite quickly and I don’t like to be wrong, I am drawn to the legalistic side of obedience most of the time. If I had a conversation with you in the past month about tongues or listening prayers you would probably know I’m not the pentecostal type either, and I know that a large part of my opinion is rooted in skepticism. My radars go off whenever someone declares that God told them this. My radars go off when someone speaks in tongues and it sounds a lot like dibbly-dibbly-doo.

So how am I meant to discern the truth?

Christianity is about truth. It’s about bringing things to the light [1] because the truth is what brings us out alive on the other side. In this passage Jesus tells us to examine works, because faith without works is dead. He tells us that his works are enough to prove his faith, not because his faith is from works, but because his works have to be a result of God. He literally proves it as he heals the blind man in the previous chapter.

He challenges the Jews to first acknowledge that his work is good.

This does not mean you don’t have to believe in anyone, and that you only need to believe in their works. This passage goes full circle in saying that once the Jews understand the works of Jesus Christ, they should go on to understand much, much more. In fact, the goal is that they may know and understand that the Father is in Jesus and that he is the Father. (V.38)

If someone tells me they are so full of the spirit that tongues is an outpour of that, I should look to see that same spirit bear fruit in their lives. If someone hears the word of God and does great work in that truth, I should know that Jesus is with them in their work. [2] For whom do I truly call judgement on if I don’t even give that opportunity? (Hint: it’s me!)

And with that said, I hope to gain understanding and generosity in the near future 🙂

Michael “Trying to write shorter blogs” Ru


  1. Ephesians 5:10:14
  2. 1 Thessalonians 5:20-21
Leave a Reply

