Shoulder Check: Luke 15

I really didn’t intend to write about this passage. In fact I’m not a big fan of the Parable of the Prodigal Son, just because I’ve heard it so many times that it became almost a bit too cliche for me. I’ll get back to the Parable in a tiny bit, but if you want to read it, it’s Luke 15:11-32!

I’ve been enjoying my devotionals recently because I feel like they’ve given me a chance to look further into text that, if I had read last week, I would simply not have the time to read over and over. Typing out my thoughts has been helpful too, and I want to make sure once and a while I have an appropriate amount of time to reflect on the past week! You could call it a Shoulder Check 😉 hehe

At Yesterday’s Large Group, we watched a short sermon on this parable and got into smaller groups to talk about what it meant to us. I’ve already expressed my feelings toward this parable in the introduction of this blog. Ugh. I thought nothing of it and we ended up talking about a few things here and there. I ended up coming back home around 3:30 am and decided to do a bit of reading, but My Bible Plan sent me to a familiar chapter, Luke 15. I won’t deny the fact that I scrolled through the reading very briefly and marked it as read before calling it a day. I already read it, right?

So after breakfast this morning, I opened my Bible to Luke 16 (cause it’s after 15 ya feel) and stopped. Maybe if I kept going I would be talking about Luke 16 or 17, who knows. The more I play that moment over in my head the less convinced I am, but God convicted me to study that passage again. At that point I decided to type in the title of this Blog Post.

I really mean what I said at the start of this post, I really didn’t intend to write about this passage. I just felt so weird and uneasy that I couldn’t help but feel like I missed something important.

In the sermon, the speaker said a couple things I’ve never heard from the parable before. He mentions that the older brother is not happy with the return of the younger brother because it is literally at the expense of his inheritance (everything the Father has left belongs to the older brother now). He also mentions that in the first two parables of the chapter, whatever was lost was always searched for, but in the parable of the Prodigal Son we don’t see this because the older brother failed to seek out the lost one (it was the older brother’s job). The older brother is in a cycle of doing good because he wants the Father’s things, not the Father himself.

An hour into writing this post, a person I met yesterday came to mind.  She said she left Christianity because of the way Homosexuality was defined as sin, and that really hurt her because she still wanted to have a relationship with God. How’s that for an opportunity to seek out the lost?

The questions I’m going to sit on are as follows:

  1. What about the Father interests me?
  2. Do I idolize knowledge?
  3. Who does God want to bring home?

Michael “My first Saturday not playing League” Ru

Leave a Reply

